Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## ASM PACIFIC TECHNOLOGY LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0522)

## RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF AUDIT COMMITTEE

Resignation of Mr. Arnold J.M. van der Ven as Non-executive Director and Member of Audit Committee

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of ASM Pacific Technology Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Arnold J.M. van der Ven has resigned as Non-executive Director and member of Audit Committee of the Company with effect from 27 May 2009. His resignation relates to the fact that he has not been reappointed as Member of the Management Board and Chief Financial Officer of ASM International N.V., the controlling shareholder of the Company.

Mr. Arnold J.M. van der Ven has confirmed that he does not have any disagreement with the Board, and there are no matters with respect to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Arnold J.M. van der Ven for his valuable contribution to the Company and its subsidiaries during his tenure of service. The Board wishes him well in his future endeavors.

On behalf of the Board **Lee Wai Kwong** Director

Hong Kong, 27 May 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Arthur H. del Prado (Chairman), Mr. Peter Lo Tsan Yin (Vice Chairman), Mr. Lee Wai Kwong, Mr. James Chow Chuen and Mr. Eric Tang Koon Hung as Executive Directors, and Miss Orasa Livasiri, Mr. Robert Lee Shiu Hung and Mr. John Lok Kam Chong as Independent Non-executive Directors.