

## **China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited**

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock Code: 2319)

## CHANGE IN DIRECTORSHIP OF THE COMPANY AND THE APPOINTMENT OF A NEW CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER IN MENGNIU

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited (the "**Company**") announces that Mr. Liu Haifeng, David ("**Mr. Liu**") has resigned as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 26 January 2006 for personal reason. Mr. Liu confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to Mr. Liu's resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Company wishes to express its gratitude to Mr. Liu for his valuable contribution to the Company during his term of office.

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. Julian Juul Wolhardt ("Mr. Wolhardt") has been appointed as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 26 January 2006.

Mr. Wolhardt, aged 32, is currently an executive director of Morgan Stanley focusing on the group's private equity transactions in the Greater China region. Before joining Morgan Stanley in 1999, Mr. Wolhardt was with the Mergers and Acquisitions Group of Lazard Freres and prior to that he was with Coopers & Lybrand's Financial Advisory Service Group. Mr. Wolhardt is a non-executive director of China Paradise Electronics Retail Limited and of CIMIC Holdings Limited. He has previously served as a non-executive director of Fujian Nanping Nanfu Battery Company Limited and as an observer to the board of Hengan International Group Company Limited. Mr. Wolhardt is a CPA and CMA and received a B.S. with honours in Accounting from the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign).

Mr. Wolhardt does not have any relationship with any other directors, senior management, substantial shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing **Rules**")) or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Wolhardt is not interested or deemed to be interested in any shares of the Company pursuant to Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Mr. Wolhardt and the Company will enter into a service contract under which he is appointed to hold office until the next annual general meeting of the Company, at which he shall retire and seek re-election pursuant to the articles of association of the Company, and will receive a remuneration of RMB6,000 per year, which is determined based on the salary scale and practice of the Company. Save as disclosed above, there is no other benefit provided to Mr. Wolhardt for his directorship in the Company.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other matter concerning the appointment of Mr. Wolhardt that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board welcomes the joining of Mr. Wolhardt and believes that his experience be beneficial to the Company's development.

The Board further announces that Mr. Yang Wenjun ("**Mr. Yang**") has been appointed as the chief executive officer of Inner Mongolia Mengniu Dairy (Group) Company Limited ("**Mengniu**"), the Company's principal operating subsidiary, in place of Mr. Niu Gensheng with effect from 26 January 2006. Mr. Yang is currently one of the executive directors of the Company.

Mr. Yang, aged 39, is one of Mengniu's founders. Prior to the appointment, Mr. Yang was Mengniu's Vice President and General Manager of the liquid milk division. Mr. Yang graduated from Inner Mongolia Light Industry Institute in dairy study and he also holds a Master's Degree in Business Administration from Barrington University. Mr. Yang has over 18 years of experience in the dairy industry in the People's Republic of China.

By order of the Board Lo Ka Wai, Claudia Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 26 January 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr Niu Gensheng, Ms Lu Jun, Mr Yang Wenjun and Mr Sun Yubin. The non-executive directors are Mr Jiao Shuge (alias Jiao Zhen), Mr Julian Juul Wolhardt and Ms Jin Yujuan, Lily. The independent non-executive directors are Mr. Wang Huaibao, Mr. Zhang Julin and Mr. Li Jianxin.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard."