Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA MENGNIU DAIRY COMPANY LIMITED

中國蒙牛乳業有限公司* (Incorporated in Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock Code: 02319)

ANNOUNCEMENT

The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited (the "**Company**") announces that Mr. Li Jianxin ("**Mr. Li**"), an independent non-executive director, an audit committee and a remuneration committee member of the Company had passed away on 20 February 2009 at the age of 45 due to a heart attack. The Board would like to express its deepest sorrow and regret for losing a valuable member of the Board. The Board would also like to show its gratitude for the contributions made by Mr. Li to the Company during his tenure and convey its sincere consolation to the family of Mr. Li.

Following the passing away of Mr. Li, the Company has only two independent non-executive directors and two audit committee members which fall below the minimum number of three independent non-executive directors and three audit committee members as required under Rule 3.10(1) and Rule 3.21 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing Rules") respectively. In this regard, the Company will use its best endeavour to find a suitable candidate to fill the vacancy as soon as practicable and will announce the appointment of a new independent non-executive director and audit committee member as soon as possible and in any event within the time period set forth in Rule 3.11 and Rule 3.23 of the Listing Rules.

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr. Niu Gensheng, Mr. Yang Wenjun, Mr. Sun Yubin, Mr. Yao Tongshan and Mr. Bai Ying. The non-executive directors are Mr. Jiao Shuge (alias Jiao Zhen) and Mr. Julian Juul Wolhardt. The independent non-executive directors are Mr. Wang Huaibao and Mr. Zhang Julin.

By Order of the Board Chris Kwok Wai Cheong Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 23 February 2009

* For identification purposes only