Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA MENGNIU DAIRY COMPANY LIMITED

中國蒙牛乳業有限公司*

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 2319)

CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT

This announcement is made at the request of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The board ("Board") of China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited (the "Company") notes that there have been recent rumors regarding the Company's proposed acquisition of a Hong Kong-listed company engaging in dairy farm business. The Company would like to clarify that there has not been any negotiation between the Board and the alleged target company.

Having made such enquiry with respect to the Company as is reasonable in the circumstances, the directors of the Company ("**Directors**") confirm that they are not aware of any information which must be announced to avoid a false market in the Company's securities or of any inside information that needs to be disclosed under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

This announcement is made by the order of the Company. The Directors collectively and individually accepts responsibility for the accuracy of this announcement.

By Order of the Board
China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited
Sun Yiping

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 16 January 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises: Ms. Sun Yiping, Mr. Bai Ying, Mr. Wu Jingshui and Mr. Ding Sheng as executive directors, Mr. Ning Gaoning, Mr. Yu Xubo, Mr. Niu Gensheng, Mr. Ma Jianping, Mr. Tim Ørting Jørgensen, Mr. Finn S. Hansen and Ms. Liu Ding as non-executive directors, Mr. Jiao Shuge (alias Jiao Zhen), Mr. Julian Juul Wolhardt, Mr. Liu Fuchun, Mr. Zhang Xiaoya, Mr. Xie Tao and Mr. Andrew Y. Yan as independent non-executive directors.

^{*} For identification purposes only